Assam: BJP plans to target three Lok Sabha seats currently held by the Congress.

The BJP is targeting the Congress-held Lok Sabha seats of Barpeta, Nagaon, and Kaliabor, as well as the independent-held Kokrajhar seat in the state.

The BJP controls nine Lok Sabha seats, including Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Diphu, Mangaldai, Guwahati, Silchar, Karimganj, and Tezpur. Because the demographics in Dhubri do not favour the BJP, the party has reserved the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat.

The BJP needs more Assam seats to return to New Delhi in 2024. As a result, the party has assigned Union ministers Sarbananda Sonowal and Kiren Rijiju to strengthen party organisation in the Lok Sabha constituencies of Barpeta, Nagaon, and Kaliabor. The party has assigned Union Minister Rameswar Teli to work in the Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat. Sonowal and Rijiju will travel to Barpeta, Nagaon, and Kaliabor to meet with local residents in booths where the BJP received fewer votes in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. They will also conduct extensive micro-evaluations to determine why the party received fewer votes in the polls. Rijiju was in Barpeta yesterday. Teli’s party assignment in Kokrajhar is no different.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *